I’m having a healthy day what about you?

IT’s I’M HAVING A HEALTHY DAY WHAT ABOUT YOU THURSDAY again?  Well one thing is for sure, writing these posts motivate me to eat healthy on Thursdays.  I’m just poking fun, I do try to eat healthy most days.  There is a sense of motivation as I can’t let me readers down and blog about a big ole Junky Food Day Thursday. LOL.  The picture is the left overs from a wonderful Lunch Party I had with the girls I grew up with.  The little plant in the background that says MOM is something my 4-year-old daughter Chaunda made in school for mother’s day.  Awwww. : )

LUNCH:  Today was an IF day so lunch was my first meal. It was Roasted Pork Loin and a side bean salad.  The bean salad recipe is below. I made it for a cookout I had on Sunday and invited my friends over to finish the left overs. It makes a lot. They loved it. I have already gotten a few emails asking me for the recipe. It really is delicious.  It comes from luckychim over at my favorite cooking site discusscooking.com.  I can’t tell you how many times the wonderful people over at discusscooking.com helped me over the years.   As far as the Pork Loin is concerned.  1/3 cup of Honey plus a lot of salt and pepper got mixed into a bowl and then I rubbed it all over the pork loin. I seared it on the stove and then cooked it in the oven at 375 until done. I have made this before without searing and it still came out good.  I had some left over honey mixture so I brushed it on the pork loin after it was seared.

DINNER:  Yesterday I made a very delicious Mexican Lasagna. I had some leftovers for dinner tonight. You basically brown 1lb of ground turkey and season with cumin, chili powder, oregano, red pepper flakes, and salt. Remove from pan and set aside. Cut up a decent size zucchini into little pieces. Season with same seasons.  Let it  cook for 5 minutes. Add small jar of sliced pimentos, a can of black beans, and can of corn. Add 14oz can of stewed tomatoes and a 14oz can of tomato sauce.  Cook for a few minutes.  In casserole dish – Layer torn tortillas, big scoops of the mixture and shredded cheese. Layer again, make sure cheese is final layer. 400 degrees, 30 minutes. I like to serve mine with a little sour cream.

Lastly,  I also decided to try a few healthy deserts for my lunch party.  This voluminous vanilla ice cream was a hit.  I also thought the fudge babies were very good, but some of my friend didn’t like them.  Both recipes come from a very popular site called chocolatecoveredkatie.com.  She is so popular that editors are contacting her to write a book.   I did as suggested and used both unsweetened almond milk and the canned coconut milk for the ice-cream.   I doubled the recipe and added a lot of blueberries, 1 small banana, and a little peanut butter to my mix. Since I don’t have a vita-mix nor an ice-cream maker, I took it out of the freezer a few times the first day. I  kept mixing it with a big wooden spoon and an immersion blender.  The next day (today), prior to serving, I let it defrost a little. I than used the immersion blender one more time before serving.

Company Picnic Bean Salad

2 (16-oz) cans kidney beans, rinsed and drained
2 (15-oz) cans garbanzo beans (chickpeas) rinsed and drained
2 (14.5-oz) cans diced tomatoes with Jalapeno’s, drained
1 1/2 c. frozen peas
1 1/2 c. frozen corn
1 c. chopped sweet onion
2/3 c. chopped red pepper
2/3 c. chopped yellow pepper
2/3 c. red wine vinegar (or cider vinegar)
1/2 c.extra-virgin olive oil
1 TBL balsamic vinegar
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 tsp. thyme
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp white pepper
1 TBL dried red pepper flakes
In a large bowl, combine the first 8 ingredients.

In a separate, small bowl, combine the last 8 ingredients, whisking until well blended. Pour over bean mixture, tossing gently to coat.
Cover and refrigerate for at least four hours before serving.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

