I’m having a healthy day, what about you?

I”m having a healthy day today. What about you? What healthy things did you eat?  Breakfast was a 3 egg omelette with left over steak, spinache, and cheese inside.  Lunch was a shake made out of spinache, unsweetened almond/coconut milk, and a big frozen banana. I also had some left overs from last night for lunch. It was originally called Baked Halibut with tomatoes, capers and olive vinaigrette and was adapted by Gourmet Magazine.  I like to call it Baked Fish with tomatoes, capers and olive vinaigrette.  I’ve tried it with haddock, tilapia, and halibut. Heck, sometimes I don’t even have all the ingredients and sometimes I add other ingredients. You can’t really go wrong.   If you don’t have cherry tomatoes, cut up regular tomatoes.  Add some greens if you want. Last night, I added a LOT of parsley into it. Parsley has a lot of healthy benefits. Something I’d like to talk about more in another post. See below for recipe.  I love kalmata olives, but unfortunately last night I was out of them. The meal still came out great.  Serve alone, over rice, or over Quinoa.  Since I’m talking about my healthy day, tonight I’m having  soup.  I had a left over ham bone from a spiral ham and some left over ham. The broth is brewing on the stove now. I’ll probably make some kind of soup with potatoes, carrots, peas, corn, and ham.

image

Ingredients:

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
2 teaspoons of dijon mustard
3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 cup cherry tomatoes halved
quartered 2/3 cup kalmata olives
2 tablespoons drained capers, rinsed
salt and pepper
1-2 lbs of fish cut into bite size pieces.

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Whisk together lemon juice, and mustard.
3. add oil in a slow stream whisking until emulsified.
4. stir in tomatoes, olives, capers, salt and pepper.
5. Put fish into a glass baking dish and pour everything in with the fish.
6. Cook until finished. Anywhere from 10 to 25 minutes.

I have also halved the vinaigrette, as it makes a lot!

One response

  1. Testing the comment section. I love the ham soup. I gave it an extra kick by putting a drop of Sriracha in my bowl, tad bit of salt and pepper, and a sprinkling of parm cheese. My 4 year old daughter had seconds. My 6 year old daughter would only eat it with peas and carrots, she took the ham and potatoes out. lol – : )

Leave a Reply

