I’m having a healthy day what about you?

IT’S THURSDAY “I’M HAVING A HEALTHY DAY WHAT ABOUT YOU day!!!!  I think I can safely say that I ate healthy today. Sometimes I think it depends on a persons version of ‘healthy’. You can see from my posts that I eat healthy. I try to especially incorporate vegetables into my daily routine. When I drink milk, most of the time, I drink the unsweetened almond milk. As I have mentioned before and probably will again – I try to use oatbran, flaxseed, wheat germ, millet, quinoa in my eating lifestyle. I moderately eat pasta, rice, potatoes etc. I try to be fair with my portions. I believe in moderation for the most part. I try very hard to keep the processed stuff and junk food down to a minimum.

BREAKFAST:  Omelet with left over sausage, swiss chard,  some of the swiss chard stems, potatoes and cheese for the filling.  There was plenty of filling left over so looks like more omelets might be in the near future. : ).   I also had a blender drink consisting of peeled apple, kale leaves, and 1/2 of a lemon. I got this idea from Mrs. Buena  Vida over at http://mrsbuenavida.wordpress.com/.  However, I don’t have a juicer anymore. I had to add water to the blender.  It was refreshing and different from my normal unsweetened almond milk, spinach, and frozen banana blender drink I like to make.

LUNCH: Spinach, 1/2 of  Pita Pocket with Hummus spread on it and in the pita – Kale & Quinoa Salad.

SNACKS: I wanted to try making this dip. See if it was party worthy. : ). It is. I snacked on it a little today. It’s called creamy tapenade spread. I used Blue Corn Chips to dip. My 4 year old daughter really loves this dip. My husband also gave it a thumbs up.

SUPPER: Meatloaf, Spinach

*Meatloaf – The meatloaf recipe comes from a friend I went to school with. I call it Heidi’s famous meatloaf.  It has gotten a lot of great reviews by many. See below for recipe.

HEIDI’S FAMOUS MEATLOAF RECIPE:

1lb of lean ground beef (I sometimes like to do 1/2 ground pork and 1/2 ground beef)

2 eggs

1/2 cup plain bread crumbs

1-16oz package of shredded cheddar cheese (I sometimes do less)

1 T worchestershire sauce

1 package of pre-cooked bacon crisped and chopped (I have also cooked bacon from scratch)

1/4 cup of each mustard & ketchup (mixed together)

1 T mayo

salt/pepper

1 small can of French’s Fried Onion Strings

Pre-heat oven to 350. Blend all ingredients except for onion strings together (using only 1/2 of the mustard/ketchup mix in the meatloaf). Form into a loaf and spread remaining mustard/ketchup mix over the top. Bake for about 45 minutes or until fully cooked. Top with fried onion strings and cook until golden.

Leave a Reply

