Collard green pesto

imageCollard Green Pesto. I got this recipe from my friend Tracey Miller.  She is a Board Certified Holistic Health and Wellness Coach and she was my coach last summer  for a little while.   Check out her SITE, she is truly  AMAZING! She helped me with a lot of things, one teaching me the importance of bringing vegetables especially greens, back into my life.

For some reason, I’m not a big fan of cooked collard greens as a side dish. I’ve tried it, but I’m just not a big fan.  This pesto is a great way for me to get my greens especially collard greens in. It’s very yummy. I have made it many times. I’ll usually separate the batch into about 3-4 containers and freeze them. I have used them on chicken pesto calzones, pasta, stuffed zucchini boats and stir-frys.

 

COLLARD GREEN PESTO

1lb bunch collards, ribs discarded, leaves roughly chopped (I sometimes use the Glory Food Bags of Precut Collard Greens)

1/4 cup pecans

1 1/4 cups grated parmesan cheese

1/2 cup pitted kalmata olives

2 cloves of garlic

1 cup of extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over medium heat.  Blanch collards until bright green, about 1 minute.

Transfer immediately to an ice bath to shock. Remove collards from the ice water and pat dry with paper towels and than transfer them to a food processor.

in a dry skillet, over low heat, toast the pecans until fragrant. Add everything to the food processor except the oil.

With food processor running, slowly drizzle in olive oil until peso comes together. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Thank You Tracey for this recipe.

Leave a Reply

